Evan Thompson

DJ Name: E-Marv
Date of Birth: December 28, 1972
Place of Birth: New Jersey
Years DJing: 26+ years

Why do you DJ?: Music has been a large part of my life since I was a kid. I started breakdancing when I was 11 and fell in love with the music. A few of my friends got DJ setups with turntables and a mixer, and I was at their house daily practicing. It seemed to just come naturally to me and shortly afterward I bought my own system. I’ve been DJing ever since. I’ve DJed at clubs in NYC and Philly, and I’ve also been a DJ in a hip-hop group who opened for major acts such as Jay-Z and Wu-Tang Clan.

Favorite moment DJing: I got my first gig at a major club in NYC, I was playing in a smaller room outside of the main floor. The main floor was playing electronic music so I decided to play some hip-hop. The equipment was setup so I had my back to the dancefloor. After a few songs I turned around and the room was absolutely packed with everyone going crazy. It looked like everyone in the club tried to cram into that little room! The energy in that room is something I’ll never forget.

Favorite song(s): I could never narrow it down to just one song. I enjoy all genres of music
and there are so many great artists in each one. I believe the music you listen to should reflect the mood or environment. If you’re excited about something play something uptempo, if you’re just relaxing put on something mellow.

Favorite event to DJ: Weddings are always so special. To be a part of such an important day in someone’s life is truly an honor. I enjoy any event where the people came to have fun and it’s a pleasure for me to provide that for them.

What sets you apart from other DJs: There are lots of good DJs out there, each having their certain strengths and specialties. I believe my specialty is getting people to dance and have fun. I can mix any kind of music you’d like, whether it be club, hip-hop, reggae, country or anything else you can think of. I’ve done it all before, and always enjoy it.

Activities/hobbies outside of DJing: I enjoy spending time with my family and being outdoors. Whether it be camping, mountain biking, or taking our dog on walks on the beach.